Northern Territory Public Holidays 2017 and 2018

Introduction

The Northern Territory is a vast area divided into 17 local jurisdictions, the Public Holidays Act 1996 regulates public holidays in the state.

The Northern Territory observes: New Year’s Day, Australia Day and the four-day Easter holiday lasting from Good Friday through Easter Monday. Workers in the Northern Territory are also entitled to paid holidays for Anzac Day; May Day, also known as Labour Day; the Queen’s Birthday and Picnic Day, which is observed on the first Monday in August. In addition, workers are entitled to paid days off for Christmas Day and Boxing Day. In addition to the nationwide holidays there are 5 specific to the territory: Borroloola Show Day, Alice Springs Show Day, Tennant Creek Show Day, Katherine Show Day and Darwin Show Day.

If a public holiday falls on a weekend, a replacement or substitute holiday is granted on the first working day of the following week, usually the following Monday, If an employee is obliged to work on a public holiday, compensation is paid at a rate equal to two and a half times the normal pay rate. This is referred to as a “penalty rate.” Additional holidays may be awarded according to the nationwide awards programme or employment contracts. 

2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the Northern Territory Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
2 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
Additional Holiday
26 Jan Thu Australia Day
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
15 Apr Sat Easter Saturday
17 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Tue Anzac Day
1 May Mon May Day
12 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
30 Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day
7 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day
14 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day
21 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day
28 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day
7 Aug Mon Picnic Day
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Boxing Day

2018

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the Northern Territory Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
26 Jan Fri Australia Day
30 Mar Fri Good Friday
31 Mar Sat Easter Saturday
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Wed Anzac Day
7 May Mon May Day
11 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
29Jun Fri Borroloola Show Day
6 Jul Fri Alice Springs Show Day
13 Jul Fri Tennant Creek Show Day
20 Jul Fri Katherine Show Day
27 Jul Fri Darwin Show Day
6 Aug Mon Picnic Day
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day