New South Wales Public Holidays 2017 and 2018

New South Wales public holidays are governed by a state law called the Public Holidays Act 2010. This act lays down the 11 standard public holidays that apply to people in New South Wales – though in reality the number of applicable public holidays for most people is 9, since many people don’t benefit from the official Easter Saturday and Easter Sunday holidays the Act provides. (People who do work these 2 Easter holidays typically workers in cafes and restaurants get paid penalty rates if they work on these days).

In addition to the above the relevant Minister can declare special Local Event days at the request of local councils if the day is deemed to be of special importance to the community. These Local Event days are not official public holidays and employees are not entitled to be absent, to be paid while absent, or for penalty rates.

We currently have public holidays for 2017 and 2018 listed. Scroll down to view.

2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates released by the New South Wales Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
2 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
Additional Holiday
26 Jan Thu Australia Day
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
15 Apr Sat Easter Saturday
16 Apr Sun Easter Sunday
17 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Tue Anzac Day
12 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
2 Oct Mon Labour Day
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Boxing Day

2018

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the New South Wales Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
26 Jan Fri Australia Day
30 Mar Fri Good Friday
31 Mar Sat Easter Saturday
1 Apr Sun Easter Sunday
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Wed Anzac Day
11 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
1 Oct Mon Labour Day
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day