Queensland Public Holidays 2017 and 2018

Introduction

In Queensland public holidays are set by the Holiday Act 1983. The Minister of Labour has the authority to announce variable holiday dates and make adjustments for holidays that fall on the weekend. Most workers in Queensland are entitled to nine paid holidays per year. Official holidays in Queensland include: New Year’s Day, Australia Day, Good Friday,,Easter Monday; Anzac Day, Labour Day, the Queen’s Birthday, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. If New Year’s Day, Christmas Day or Boxing Day falls on a weekend, a replacement day is granted during the following week. All holidays are paid according to regular pay scales. Replacement holidays are permitted, depending on work schedules and agreement between the employer and employee. Extra holidays may be allowed for observances of local and regional cultural festivals.

Labour Laws in Queensland

The National Employment Standards regulate standard provisions regarding annual leave. All workers in Queensland are entitled to a minimum of four weeks of paid annual leave after every year of continuous employment. Queensland Employment Standards set out minimum salaries, basic conditions of employment, benefits and entitlement to paid holidays and annual leave. The normal work week in the private sector consists of 38 hours. Employees who work more than this are compensated by salary increases or time off in compensation. Queensland has recently instituted an award program, which is similar in nature to an employment agreement. Periodic financial awards are granted to workers based on length of employment and job performance.

2017

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
2 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
Additional Holiday
26 Jan Thu Australia Day
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
15 Apr Sat Easter Saturday
17 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Tue Anzac Day
1 May Mon Labour Day
2 Oct Mon Queen’s Birthday
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Boxing Day

2018

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the Queensland Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
26 Jan Fri Australia Day
30 Mar Fri Good Friday
31 Mar Sat Easter Saturday
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday
25 Apr Wed Anzac Day
7 May Mon Labour Day
15 Aug Wed Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane Area Only)
1 Oct Mon Queen’s Birthday
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day