Tasmania Public Holidays 2017 and 2018

Introduction

Public holidays in Tasmania are governed by The Statutory Holidays Act 2000 The act that determines the dates on which these days will fall. It does not provide the right to have the day off work – that comes from the employees award or employment contract. Tasmania has a five-day work week and a seven and one-half hour workday. The standard work week is 38 hours. Overtime pay at one and a half times regular wages applies to hours in addition to eight per day and total of 40 hours per week.

All workers whether full-time or part-time have a right to four weeks of paid holiday. Holiday emtitlement builds over the course of twelve months of employment. Full-time and part-time workers are entitled to a minimum of four weeks of paid annual leave for every twelve months of continuous service. Shift workers are entitled to five weeks of paid annual leave. 

When public holidays occur during the employee’s vacation, the employer should pay holiday pay during the period that an employee is taking annual leave and the public holiday occurs. The coincidence of holiday and annual leave should be in the employee’s favour.

In addition to the 10 public holidays Tasmanians also receive a Show Day holiday as a local public holiday.  

2017

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the Tasmanian Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Sun New Year’s Day
2 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
Additional Holiday
11 Jan Wed Devonport Cup
(Devonport Only)
26 Jan Thu Australia Day
13 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta
(Hobart Only)
22 Feb Wed Launceston Cup
(Launceston Only)
7 Mar Tue King Island Show
(King Island Only)
13 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day
14 Apr Fri Good Friday
17 Apr Mon Easter Monday
18 Apr Tue Easter Tuesday ^
25 Apr Tue Anzac Day
5 May Fri AGFEST
(Circular Head Only)
12 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
6 Oct Fri Burnie Show
(Burnie Only)
12 Oct Thu Royal Launceston Show
(Launceston Only)
20 Oct Fri Flinders Island Show
(Flinders Island Only)
26 Oct Thu Royal Hobart Show
(Hobart Only)
6 Nov Mon Recreation Day
(Launceston Only)
1 Dec Fri Devonport Show
(Devonport Only)
25 Dec Mon Christmas Day
26 Dec Tue Boxing Day

2018

This list has been updated to reflect the official dates issued by the Tasmanian Government.

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Mon New Year’s Day
10 Jan Wed Devonport Cup
(Devonport Only)
26 Jan Fri Australia Day
12 Feb Mon Royal Hobart Regatta
(Hobart Only)
28 Feb Wed Launceston Cup
(Launceston Only)
6 Mar Tue King Island Show
(King Island Only)
12 Mar Mon Eight Hours Day
30 Mar Fri Good Friday
2 Apr Mon Easter Monday
3 Apr Tue Easter Tuesday ^
25 Apr Wed Anzac Day
4 May Fri AGFEST
(Circular Head Only)
11 Jun Mon Queen’s Birthday
5 Oct Fri Burnie Show
(Burnie Only)
11 Oct Thu Royal Launceston Show
(Launceston Only)
19 Oct Fri Flinders Island Show
(Flinders Island Only)
25 Oct Thu Royal Hobart Show
(Hobart Only)
5 Nov Mon Recreation Day
(Launceston Only)
30 Nov Fri Devonport Show
(Devonport Only)
25 Dec Tue Christmas Day
26 Dec Wed Boxing Day

Note:
^ Only selected areas. Please refer to individual holiday page for more details.
* Restricted public holiday in Tasmania. Observed by some awards/agreements and the State Public Service. To check award ring Fair Work Infoline on 131394.